Orwell Wheelers

Club Name : Orwell Wheelers

Club Contact Details : 

President Denis Gleeson therunner4@live.com / 087 6177 311
Vice-president Damien Long irlld@yahoo.ie (Home)
damien.long@siemens.com (Work)
Membership Secretary Paraic Morrissey paraicm@gmail.com
Event Secretary Dick O’Brien dickobrien@gmail.com
Treasurer Mark Mulcahy mulcahy.mark@gmail.com / 087 905 6687
PRO Brian McArdle brianmc@gmail.com / 087 6666 301
Club League Reps Eddy Lane lanekilbride@gmail.com







Club Website : Orwell Wheelers.org

Club Facebook page : Orwell Wheelers

Club Twitter Account : @Orwell_Wheelers

Meeting points and times :

Orwell Wheelers Cycling Club runs organised weekly spins that are open to all from October until March. The first spin of 2014/15 is on Sunday, October 5th. They are for both men and women of a wide range of age and ability. Riders are split up into groups of similar fitness and ability.

Spins for all levels usually start opposite Joe Daly Cycles in Dundrum. There are occasional groups that will start at the Popes Cross in the Phoenix Park.

Staggered starts mean that congestion is minimised and groups can get rolling. The Red groups will be leaving at 9:00am, Orange at 9:10, Yellow at 9:20 and White groups at 9:30 sharp.

You can come out with us on a trial basis for up to three cycles without being a member. First, you must register at SPIN SIGN ON. This allows us make sure we have the right number of experienced leaders on hand and that you are covered for insurance.

For the first four weeks of the season and once a month thereafter there will be special groups for newcomers.

Club Promoted Events :


As well as John McElligot’s scenic Inner Ring in Kerry, Dave McLouglin ran a series of PBP qualifiers in 2015.

Gerry Brannigan Memorial

The Gerry Brannigan Memorial Cycle takes place every November out of Clonee, and is run as a joint effort between several clubs, with Orwell providing marshals on the day.

The Joe Daly Memorial Charity Cycle Rally

As a tribute to Joe, at the end of every June, there is a fun cycle from Dundrum to Enniskerry and back. Aided by volunteers from Orwell, the event is in aid of Simpson’s Hospital, Dundrum.

Noel and Kieran Hammond Memorials

Run as a road race for several years, it reverted to its original time trial format in 2013, and the overall has been won by a UCD rider since.

There are two trophies awarded each year – the Kieran Hammond cup and the Noel Hammond cup.


The genesis for the Randonnée was the annual club 100 Mile cycle that was held in early May to give members a chance to complete the traditional rite of passage of a “Century” ride. The decision was made to open the cycle to non-members in 2007, when under the direction of Eddy Lane the Orwell Randonnée made it’s first appearance as a fundraiser for the Irish hospice foundation.

Stephen Roche GP

The Stephen Roche GP is Ireland’s most prestigious criterium race, running annually since 1995. The challenging but spectator-friendly circuit invariably produces great racing action for the crowd lining the roadsides and congregated in the central green area.The 1.3km loop is located in the housing estate where no less than three of the Roche family took their first tentative pedal strokes on the road to Tour de France glory.

Women’s Crit League

Orwell have been running a women’s crit league in some format since 2010, beginning with Winning Solutions sponsoring prizes before Wheelworx came on board. The Sandyford-based criteriums were ably run by Aideen Collard, Dave McLoughlin, Jen Sheridan and a merry band of helpers.

They gradually incorporated Corkagh Park when it opened, and eventually the league moved there but added a road race and time trials for variety. Orla Hendron and Mags Donnelly took on the task of organisers since 2014, and StickyBottle.com have latterly come on board as sponsors.

Club Sponsors :



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *